A Glorious Beautiful

We’ve been married for a little over a week now and it feels so good. He is a wonderful person and I am so proud that he picked me.

I’ve been doing a lot of knitting, playing with Logan, and getting over a horrible cold I got right after the wedding. I’ve been online and out in the world and I have noticed something scary. We are teaching children opposing ideals. It scares me, and makes me sad.

We tell children to be themselves, that true them is beautiful. Then we tell them through messages of media and social dynamic that they are only beautiful it they fit this social norm. We are so into selling how to get skinny fast we don’t teach our children to be healthy. That a beautiful person both outside and in starts with honesty, humility, empathy, and strength. That being healthy and caring for yourself the way you deserve, and everyone deserves, is beautiful.

So I am going to be starting a repeating blog post…  A Glorious Beautiful… To share the different types of beautiful. Unlike other media I will admit I may be bias. However I will admit full heartily that it is only opinion.

 This is one example of what I might be posting. Sad that there was no page to go with this image. It was part of my image search. I personally don’t have the guts to pull this off. That said it is beautiful. This modification takes months if not years. It can be painful. I feel those self inflicted trials it what births the person in the mirror who says, “I’m beautiful” and means it. It’s not just the modification, but what the modification means to the person.

 

P.S. After I posted this blog I found THIS. It’s just wonderful. An obvious battle we now have with gender roles. Had to add.

Leave a Reply

